City of Eatonton

City Hall

201 North Jefferson Avenue

Eatonton, GA 31024

Mailing: P.O. Box 3820 Eatonton, GA 31024

Phone: 1.706.485.3311

Fax: 1.706.485.7912


The City of Eatonton is governed by a Mayor and a Council comprised of seven members.  Four members of the City Council are elected from each of the City’s four wards; two members are elected from combinations of wards (Wards 1 & 4 and Wards 2 & 3); and one member is elected at-large.

Mayor: Walter Rocker

At-Large (Mayor Pro Tem): Chip Walker

Wards 1 & 4: Charles Haley

Wards 2 & 3: Alvin Butts

Ward 1: Bill Mangum

Ward 2: James Gorley

Ward 3: Alma Stokes

Ward 4: Teresa Doster


Putnam County

Putnam County Administration Building

Suite A

1117 Putnam Drive

Eatonton, GA 31024

Phone: 1.706.485.5826

Fax: 1.706.923.2345


Putnam County is governed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of a chairman, elected county-wide, and four commissioners, one from each district, as provided for in House Bill 248, Act Number 22, signed by the Governor on May 14, 2003.

The Board of Commissioners is a policy making body which oversees the executive functions of the county and assigns the day-to-day duties of the executive role of the county manager.

Chairman: Stephen J. Hersey

District 1 Commissioner: Kelvin Irvin

District 2 Commissioner: Daniel W. Brown

District 3 Commissioner: Alan Foster

District 4 Commissioner: Trevor J. Addison